Manic Monday

Manic Monday
Image: wherethevibeis.blogspot.com

What should have been an easy’ish day, and by that I mean busy but problem-free, turned into one of the most dramatic, high-pressured, and exhausting days of my working life.

Our contractor only works Tuesday to Thursday each week, and my team-mate called in sick for a couple of days, so the onus was left on me to keep all the plates spinning and I hold everything together. Problem was, it wasn’t a good day for it, because today was all about an important software implementation worth tens of millions to The Company. In other words, no cock-ups allowed.

I was meant to start the implementation at 11:30am, but in the end didn’t get the final go-ahead until just after 3pm. Problem after problem of varying natures and degrees then ensued, which meant urgently called meetings, head banging, hair pulling, and praying to any God we could think of to get the damn thing through. In the end, one part of it had to be backed out – which also failed – causing more tension and worry.

For me, as well as a couple of unlucky others, it meant no lunch, a 14-hour long day, and not being able to leave the building until 10pm. Thank God for Gail, who had a baked tattie loaded with cheese and coleslaw ready for me when I got in, but with a 5am start tomorrow to ensure all was ok overnight and complete off the final part, it meant I was straight to bed to get what sleep I could.

The upside will be the overtime I’ll get when it comes through, and probably a little bit of kudos as well. Neither of which will do me any harm. But it was a mad, mad day, nae, it was totally manic and I was glad to see the back of it.

Fingers crossed there will be no repercussions into tomorrow.

What it meant on the writing front was nothing got done – I never even got to check my email. Not the start I was hoping for March, but it was a one-off so I’ll not let it eat away at me like it would if I thought about it too much.


The Ranfurly Review – Out Now!

Post this story to Reddit
Reddit
Post this story to Facebook
Facebook
Post this story to Del.icio.us
Del.icio.us
Stumble It!
StumbleUpon
Post this story to Digg
Digg
About Colin Galbraith

Author, poet, music lover, rabbit tamer, fake faller.
This entry was posted in Day Job and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Manic Monday

  1. Sorry you had such a rough day. Hope today makes up for it.

    Few things enrage me as much as a colleague who’s been on vacation for weeks who then comes back and calls in sick.

  2. Pingback: Bipolar Disorder » Blog Archive » Manic Monday | Freedom From The Mundane

Got something to say? Do it here...

