Stovies and Headaches (Not Related)

Stovies and Headaches (Not Related)
Image: Stovies.com

I’ve got a new dentist! I have my first session with him on the 20th January and by all accounts he’s one of the best around. If both my wife and daughter like him then he has to be good.

My gum/teeth pain seems to have died down but that’s maybe due to the application of the magic sauce, but the headaches are still there, though not as aggressive today as before.

Last night was hell, once again, and I’m falling behind on work because of it. I’ve yet to post my first assignment to my Savvy Authors workshop, One Story, Many Voices, because of it; all I managed was a few emails before the buzzing behind my eyes grew too much to bear. So I started writing long-hand once it had died down later on, and now I’m transferring that back to PC over lunch and then this evening. Hope I don’t get a bad name in the class as the one that’s always late.

As if having to go back to the day job yesterday after the Christmas break wasn’t bad enough, forgetting my ID badge and being forced to wait around in reception until someone else in the building showed up who could corroborate my credentials to let me in, was. It took me 25 minutes to get to work from the bus stop and then a further 20 to get from the front door to my desk. Not the best start to 2011 in the day job!

Lara asked what Stovies were – the scrapings off the stove, off course! 🙂 Stovies are a traditional dish using the leftovers from the Sunday Roast, using the tatties, meat and dripping all thrown into one pot. Recipes differ depending on who you ask, but basically to make them you need:

3 lbs tatties (potatoes)
1 large onion or 2 small
1 lb steak mince or lamb (or diced pieces of meat or cheese or vegetables)
2 ozs beef dripping or lard (or butter or olive oil)
1/2 pint of water
Meat or Veg stock cube
Salt and Pepper to taste

Ram it all into a pot and simmer for 30 mins, mix it all up and serve hot.

Today I must get back on track with my writing plan and in particular, the Savvy workshop. I plan on taking a milder pain killer earlier in the evening so I can get through the pain barrier and catch up with my assignment. Then, it’ll be the rest on the list. Until then, here’s January’s plan of action…

Monthly GDR Plan

Fiction
* Savvvy Author’s Course (One Story, Many Voices)
* Begin next re-write of BACCARA BURNING
* Resubmit SLICK after returned
* Keep on top of fiction submissions
* Submit to all selected fiction competitions this month

Poetry
* Start work on new ideas for chapbook

Editing
* Publish RR issue 13 for December

Freelance
* Complete site overhaul for photography client
* Keep all my websites updated and relevant
* New gigs lined up for review

Reading & Learning
* SCAREDY CAT by Mark Billingham – IP
* ONE GOOD TURN by Kate Atkinson – IP
* THE FRY CHRONICLES by Stephen Fry – IP

Marketing
* Use Podcasting ideas to publish first one
* New Year book offers

NEW YEAR OFFERS

Get 25% off all my poetry books – FRINGE FANTASTIC, POOLSIDE POETRY, SILLY POEMS FOR WEE PEOPLE VOL.2 – when you order from my website at www.colingalbraith.co.uk. Simply quote WINTERUK305 at checkout. Valid until MIDNIGHT TONIGHT!!! (UK orders only).

Get 25% off STELLA, my spy novella with a twist, when you order the e-book from the publisher’s website at www.eternalperss.biz. Simply quote 612JMZN67VZX at checkout.

Post this story to Reddit Post this story to Facebook Post this story to Del.icio.us Stumble It! Post this story to Digg
About Colin Galbraith

Author, poet, music lover, rabbit tamer, fake faller.
This entry was posted in Day Job, Editorial Comment, Food, Drink and Bevvy, Scotland, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stovies and Headaches (Not Related)

  1. Clove oil for the sore gums; rosemary oil on the temples for the headache.

    As long as you post at some point today, you’ll be fine. Feel better soon!

  2. Brenda says:

    I hate when I forget my work badge. We can only get as far as our floor elevator lobby and then you pace back and forth, trapped like a caged lion until someone happens by the area, takes pity and opens the door for you. Sometimes they’ll just open the door, other times they point and laugh at you and then open the door.

    I hope you get your tooth fixed soon. And check your email will ya???

Got something to say? Do it here...

