Coming Down With A Katzenjammer

Coming Down With A Katzenjammer
Image: Unknown

I never noticed it starting yesterday, but today I have awoken with a head cold and it seems to be getting worse. My head is pulsing, my eyes swollen and my mouth is dry. Simply not what I needed at this particular moment in the month, and if it stays like this or worsens, I’ll be forced to take a day or two off.

I feel like there’s a balloon blown up to bursting point inside my head and all I want to do is sleep.

Writing Workshop
Over at my Savvy Authors workshop things are moving along with pace. In this past week I’ve written a contemporary piece of literary fiction, turned it into a mystery/suspense story, and now shifted gear entirely and transformed the same story into a sci-fi tale. Next up is a shift towards the Western/Historical genre.

I enjoyed the first two genres immensely, mainly because that is where I am most naturally suited, and the sci-fi one provided me with a chance to inject some humour as well as try out something new. However, we still have the likes of the romance genre to come, and that is one I am not looking forward to at all – because I can’t write romance – so from that point of view it should be very interesting, challenging, and as far outside my comfort zone as I could hope. Mind you, I have no idea where else this course is going to go so it may end up being one of the easier, who knows?

A New Word
What an awesome word this is: katzenjammer [KAT-suhn-jam-er, noun:]

1. The discomfort and illness experienced as the after effects of excessive drinking; hangover.
2. Uneasiness; anguish; distress.
3. Uproar; clamour.

It sounds as though it should sum up how I feel today but without the presence of alcohol. “I feel like a katzenjammer today.” Yes, it definitely works.

Scotland’s Treasure
As promised, here’s the link to the latest issue of The Scruffy Dog Review. This is my farewell issue as Associate Editor and Webmaster, and it also contains the last in my series of articles under the SCOTLAND’S TREASURE title. Read the new issue at: http://www.thescruffydogreview.com

JANUARY OFFERS

Get 25% off STELLA, my spy novella with a twist, when you order the e-book from the publisher’s website at www.eternalperss.biz. Simply quote 612JMZN67VZX at checkout.

Post this story to Reddit Post this story to Facebook Post this story to Del.icio.us Stumble It! Post this story to Digg
About Colin Galbraith

Author, poet, music lover, rabbit tamer, fake faller.
This entry was posted in Day Job, Publishing and Marketing, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coming Down With A Katzenjammer

  1. Diane says:

    Wow, that workshop sounds like a great idea, but hard work. Glad you’re enjoying the challenge.

  2. I’m glad you’re having fun in the workshop. It’s supposed to be hard! 😉

    You do some of your best work when you’re pushed outside of your comfort zone. You rise to the challenge.

Got something to say? Do it here...

