Web Development on the Mac

Web Development on the Mac
Image: OmniTechNews

I took the easy route into the day job yesterday, i.e., I got up at 9am, made some strong coffee and wholemeal toast, and then left the house so I arrived dead on 10. As I said, nice and eeeassssaaayyyy, like a Jamaican man kicking back for the morning.

Longing
Felt pretty great about life during the morning but the day job knocked it out of me. I feel like I want to go away somewhere and spend time writing in absolute solitude, maybe in a forest or overlooking the North Sea coast. I want wind and rain and to hear it battering off of a caravan roof. I want wilderness.

Book Event
Before I did anything, I snapped up my ticket for the up-coming Edinburgh Bookshop event with the Alistair Darling. He’s in town next Monday to promote his hot-hot-hot book that spills the beans about his tenure as the Chancellor of the Exchequer and the rubs he had with Gordon Brown. It promises to be a fascinating encounter.

Website
It’s that time of the year again when web development work starts to creep into the work schedule. My wife is expanding her business and a new website is required, so some of my evening was spent downloading and installing new software onto my Mac to enable it.

Previously I’ve used Adobe Dreamweaver for all my websites, and wanting to try and avoid extra expense I gave RapidWeaver a shot. Too template-driven though, and while it would be perfect for non-coders and to batter out websites fast and easily, I need more. I need to be able to get into the code and tweak, change and adapt; I need full control.

So Dreamweaver it is. Not cheap but a good investment considering I have plans for my own website in the coming months too and the latest version is much more exciting in what it offers than the version that exists on Windows PC. I’m looking forward to getting started and seeing what site we come up with.

Workshop
Still going well although I’ve not been able to converse with the other participants as much as I’d like, I did get my revised exercise 1 in and make a healthy start on the second.

That’s all for today, peace and out!

Post this story to Reddit Post this story to Facebook Post this story to Del.icio.us Stumble It! Post this story to Digg
About Colin Galbraith

Author, poet, music lover, rabbit tamer, fake faller.
This entry was posted in Day Job, Edinburgh, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Got something to say? Do it here...

