A Book I Couldn’t Put Down

A Book I Couldn’t Put Down
Image: davidnichollswriter.com

One Day
I practically ran to the coffee shop yesterday morning, such was my desire to get seated and keep reading One Day. I had under one hundred pages to go and was really, REALLY, enjoying the read. I read with every chance I got during the day and finished it late last night. If anyone’s read it they may have felt the anger and sadness at the turn of events that occurs. I saw it coming, just didn’t know when, and when it did I was pissed off because I had grown to really love the characters.

From the opening page to the final paragraph, the book had me hooked. The idea of how the story is constructed through the 15th of July every year for 20 years, is ridiculously simple but totally effective, and the characters so wonderfully crafted and alive that you are sucked in from the get-go.

It’s a brilliant read; I’m sorry it all had to come to an end.

Hi-Viz Jackets
Anyway, after my morning coffee, I jumped a bus and headed down to the day job. The bus stop is right outside the main entrance to the office and when I stepped off, a hi-viz jacket appeared and people started pouring out the building: fire alarm! I did an about turn and went to another coffee shop, ordered another cappuccino and read a few more pages of the book.

Day Job
The day job picked up somewhat after what’s been a turbulent few weeks. I had a good first meeting with my new boss and things are to continue as they were before the changes came in; steady as she goes is the best way to describe it. All doors are open, the only way is up, and the future seems bright.

Workshop
Finished exercise 2 and I’m quite pleased with it. I’ll give it one more quick polish and then off it goes and onto exercise 3. The more I’ve worked with Devon the more I’ve come to know what she expects, and because her standards are so high I find myself questioning everything I write and how I write it. “What would Devon say about that?”; “Would she think this bit could be better served edited or cut?”; “Have I misplaced any apostrophes?” You get the idea. She can push you through work without even being there!

Podcast
I’ve decided I’ll record my book festival wrap-up podcast (which is all written and ready to go) in the great outdoors. I’m thinking I might record it actually at Charlotte Square even though the book festival is over. Might make me look a bit like a mad man but I reckon it sounds better when it’s done outside. Either way, I need to get it done and dusted as soon as possible.

Tonight
I’m not going to get a lot done tonight on the writing front because I have to work overtime on site for the day job. It’s a high pressure implementation so fingers crossed it goes in without a hitch. If it doesn’t, the heat will most definitely be scorching.

Peace and out!

Post this story to Reddit Post this story to Facebook Post this story to Del.icio.us Stumble It! Post this story to Digg
About Colin Galbraith

Author, poet, music lover, rabbit tamer, fake faller.
This entry was posted in Books, Day Job, Edinburgh, Edinburgh Book Festival, Fiction, Reading, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Book I Couldn’t Put Down

  1. I’ve heard the book is amazing! The movie…not so much…

Got something to say? Do it here...

