Fingering the Pulse

Pulse by www.wallpapershdi.comQuick update because I got a lot of good work done early this week. I reviewed my GDR plan for the year and realised, that with eight months of my writing year gone, I’ve met several goals already as well as one dream. Not bad. Not bad at all.

So despite many setbacks over the last few months, it seems that if I can keep my finger on the pulse, August could be a very good month come review time.

But back to this week. Scotland’s inaugural crime writing festival, Bloody Scotland, is happening this September. Part of the schedule is a short story competition to which I am entering. I’m working on a nifty wee story set in Leith, with not one but two twists and that is heavy on noir.

Other writings include developing the stage play I wrote a few years ago, submitted to a local production company and received some positive feedback on. However, I abandoned it in favour of other projects and failed to pick it up again.

No longer. Now it is officially back in revision and to tell you the truth, I can see exactly why the comments that came back were made. I guess I’ve moved on as a writer since then, as most of them seem more obvious now and make absolute sense. I’m hoping I can shape it into a more rounded and much more meaningful work.

Why have I added a stage play into my workload when it was never planned at the start of the year? Simple: after attending several enjoyable plays over the last few months, I felt a pull from it and want to do it justice.

I’ve done two interviews this week, both for other writer’s blogs as Colin Galbraith. I’ll pass you the URLs when they are released.

JA Konrath published a great blog post this week, highlighting the crappy way some authors within the publishing industry. In this case, Harlequin is under the spotlight. Have a read at A Newbie’s Guide to Publishing.

It’s been pissing with rain here the last few days, so with a break in the norm today and the sun shining warmly over Edinburgh, I have a lawn to cut before I can enjoy the rest of my Saturday. I’m planning on doing some work on the stuff I mentioned earlier, then some drinky-poos and some very loud music.

Stay cool people!

About Colin Galbraith

Author, poet, music lover, rabbit tamer, fake faller.
This entry was posted in Interviews, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fingering the Pulse

  1. amber decker says:

    Drink one for me, Colin. 🙂

Got something to say? Do it here...

