Gutting Fish

As you can probably tell, I’ve got a few things on the go. Which is good.

One month ago I released BACCARA BURNING and it’s selling well. I’m very pleased considering it’s a sequel to an existing book I wrote in 2009 (STELLA). I suppose you might call it a mini-series of two novellas set in 1988/89, concerning two of the top characters I’ve ever had the pleasure of writing.

Under my pseudonym, Chas Stramash, I have a new chapbook almost ready to release: LIVING LEITH. This book is a step towards a new direction for me poetry-wise. I’ve felt I’ve grown hugely with this one as I’ve moved into characterisation and “deep-diving” my poetry. It feels more satisfying to be publishing something that has proved challenging and that I’m really excited about.

I’m working on a secret project, first started and submitted a few years ago that came back with some favourable comments, and that I have now re-written.

When I say “re-written” I really mean I have gutted it like a fish, inserted transplant organs and sewn it back up. It’s now in the healing stage and apart from all the bruises and scars that can be worked on, it’s a much more promising concept and delivery of an idea.

But here’s the BIG news.

As I’ve already mentioned on this blog, I needed a new project, a fresh one that I could get my teeth into that would make me feel good. So I’ve begun working on a manuscript first published as a serial nine years ago. It’s being gutted like a fish just like the secret project, and it’s changing into something more glossy, more exciting, and much more sexy. In fact, it’s turning into a good old-fashioned proper thriller.

My aim is to have HUNTING JACK ready by the end of the year.

Previously, it’s been through what I termed a transformation from serial format to novel but it needs much more than that to get it to where I want. It needs modernised; it needs injected with the last decade of experience I’ve collected; it needs redirected.

Coincidentally, and rather ironically considering the problems I’m having with a certain other book right now, I’ve seen a front cover that fits the bill beautifully for HUNTING JACK in a fire sale. I’m considering going for it.

About Colin Galbraith

Author, poet, music lover, rabbit tamer, fake faller.
This entry was posted in Books, Fiction, Photography, Publishing and Marketing, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Got something to say? Do it here...

