Goals for 2016

I’ve spent the last few days developing a new set of GDRs (Goals, Dreams and Resolutions), my first for around four years. I’ve spent enough time looking back at the last few years, analysing what came along in my life that meant I had to stop writing, and forgiving myself for dropping the ball. Looking back, I was in a great position and at times I feel like I’ve lost all the momentum I built up.

Those four years have remained in the back of my mind as I shape what will prove to be a critical year for me and my life in writing; pivotal even, as I attempt a “comeback” of sorts. To this end, I’ve been employing several methods for enabling myself to get back on the horse and motivating myself to the point of frustration:

  • I’ve re-read all of my old work: short stories, poems, and previous longer works of fiction (STELLA, BACCARA BURNING, SLICK, GREENER IS THE GRASS).
  • I’ve been contemplating the projects that remain unfinished from four years ago that I want to use to springboard back into things again.
  • I’m spending time with the characters involved in each of the unfinished projects to see who has the loudest voice, i.e., who is willing to help me out more.
  • I’m re-reading some of the works of my oldest friends in writing, and some of their work published since I moved into exile, for want of a better phrase.
  • I’ve been plugging back into some of my favourite blogs from writers who inspire me most.

And so for the first time in four years, I now have a fully developed set of GDRs for 2016; demanding, but not overly so; unapologetically challenging while keeping within the boundaries of optimal motivation. I like their familiarity and I like their freshness.

My life now, compared to where I was in 2012, has transformed completely. A lot of it is due to me coming to terms with who I am, some of it is down to pure chance and a splash of fate, but most of it is due to me deciding to take my life in the direction I wanted it to go; I have made my life into what I want. I’ll not be apologising for that any time soon, because for the first time in a long, long time, I’m really happy.

One of the few key things that remains is to re-focus and re-channel my creative energies into writing again. And that’s what the GDRs and the five motivational methods I outlined above are all about.

I’m not going to list all of my personal writing review and GDRs here, for that you will need to head over to the site run by Devon Ellington: Goals, Dreams & Resolutions, but for the sake of initially making it public, here’s my 2016 Writing Goals:

  1. Complete and Publish GATECRASH
  2. Re-write and Publish HUNTING JACK as a novel
  3. Complete NaNoWriMo 2015 Novel
  4. Publish Two New Chapbooks
  5. Read 40 Novels

Bring it on!

About Colin Galbraith

Author, poet, music lover, rabbit tamer, fake faller.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Got something to say? Do it here...

