Three Days Until NaNoWriMo

With three days to go until the big kick off, I find myself in an unusual position with regards to writing a fresh novel: I’ve two belting ideas. 

One is the idea I hinted at in my last blog post involving the supporting character from my first novel, Slick. The other comes straight from my “ideas” folder built up over many years. It’s an idea I had back in 1998 but it still works, is still juicy, and it would only need adjusting to modern day times and a new location. 

So which one?

Well, the more I’ve thought about each of their merits, the more I’ve erred toward the logical choice: a mix of both. 

But regardless of which way I eventually go in this, one problem remains the same: time. 

In order to write 50,000 words in 30 days, one must hit a minimum of 1667 words each day. As a number it isn’t all that much, it’s the regularity of it that becomes the problem if you’re not geared up or used to it. 

The two previous times I’ve done NaNoWriMo, I’ve blown out of the stalls with around 4-5000 words on the first two or three days. It’s then died down to the minimum number each day, with the odd spurt of a couple of thousand usually at the weekends. This method also allows for a day or two off if needed (and they usually are in order to keep perspective).

Both those times though, I hadn’t planned on being out of the country twice! The upshot is, if I’m going to do this, I’ll need to do it over 20 days, not 30. A quick tap on the calculator will show a new daily total required of at least 2500 words, with no days off. 

My plan, therefore, is this: to aim for 2000 a day, but also attempt to write while on holiday. Sounds easy but it won’t be, although I do have the support of my OH on this. 

I recently bought a new iPad as well, which should help me write while travelling. I also bought a Bluetooth keyboard for it that sits inside the case to make things even more amenable.

And I’m going to do more advance plotting than normal, something I wouldn’t normally do for NaNoWriMo. Flying by ones’ wings makes the whole experience a lot more exciting. But I think it’s a necessity this time around if I’m going to achieve that 50k mark at all. 

Todays goal is thus: make a final decision on the theme/plot and pen an outline. 

About Colin Galbraith

Author, poet, music lover, rabbit tamer, fake faller.
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Got something to say? Do it here...

