Goals, Dreams and Resolutions Plan 2011/12

GDR Annual Work Plan

GOALS

What are my GOALS for 2011/12?

  • PRIORITY 1: To Get All Outstanding Long Fiction Out On Submission
  • PRIORITY 2: To Publish The 5 Chapbooks Currently In Production
  • PRIORITY 3: To Market My Name As A “Brand” Worth Investing In
  • PRIORITY 4: To Write A New Novel
  • PRIORITY 5: To Increase My Visibility In The Scottish Literary Scene
  • PRIORITY 6: To Read 42 Novels

 

List at least three positive, active steps to take on each goal to ensure it is achieved.

To Get All Outstanding Long Fiction Out On Submission
– Complete and submit BACCARA BURNING
– Complete and submit GATECRASH
– Find suitable places to submit SLICK and GREENER IS THE GRASS to

To Publish The 5 Chapbooks Currently In Production
– Complete the writing/editing of all chapbooks
– Complete the required list of “To Do’s” for every book
– Time each launch for maximum visibility and PR

To Market My Name As A “Brand” Worth Investing In
– Re-launch the website
– Focus on crime/thriller fiction
– Get books stocked in EBS and market based on this
– Make better use of advertising opportunities
– Develop the podcast to make better use of media

To Write And Complete A New Novel
– Prepare in advance based on what learned in EBF Writing Course
– Start in January 2012 at the latest
– Concentrate on nothing else until complete

To Further Increase My Visibility In The Scottish Literary Scene
– Start attending the Edinburgh City of Literature Lit-Salons
– Keep in touch with the network of contacts made at EBF 2011
– Start attending other literary events during the year
– Return to the Edinburgh Writers Meetup group

To Read 42 Novels
– Create more dedicated writing time
– Utilise Goodreads to track what I’m reading
– Branch out into new authors through sites like RobAroundBooks and Lizzy’s Literary Life
– Look at what my contemporaries are writing and publishing

What Other Things Do I Need To Ask Of Myself To Achieve These Goals?

How will I structure next year to support my writing?

Now that I have caught up on all unfinished projects my main priority is to get them all out on submission and to write a new novel. My second priority is to publish all 5 chapbooks currently in production. After this, marketing myself as a brand worth investing in will not only increase my chances of getting a book deal, but will also go towards priority 5, which is to further increase my visibility on the Scottish writing scene. The top two priorities will have deadlines on them so that priority 4 (to write a new novel) can begin early in the New Year. Priority 3 and 5 about branding myself and upping my visibility, which is a year-long goal.

Where do I need to ease up on myself?

Poetry. I have 5 chapbooks at different stages of production that can all be released throughout 2011/12. This should free me up to commit more time to focussing on writing more fiction.

What steps do I need to take on the technical front to achieve these goals?

After having invested heavily in technical items to achieve goals in the last year, i.e., iPhone and iMac, I’m unsure what investments are now required. It feels as though I have all I need, though (barring some software perhaps) and so I think that I now need to learn how to use this new equipment to maximise all opportunities and PR I need to do.

What new and unique marketing arenas will I enter this year to promote myself and my work?

None. Nothing new. This next year is about further establishing myself primarily as a writer of quality fiction and then as a poet. This is what I’ve been working towards being able to focus on, so that’s what I am going to do.

 


DREAMS

What are my DREAMS for 2011/12?

  • To Have A Novel Published
  • ~Private~

 

List three positive, active steps to transform each dream into a goal.

To Have A Novel Published
– Focus on writing and targeting submission of long fiction
– Keep a close eye on the agent/publisher scene in Scotland
– Develop network of contacts

 


RESOLUTIONS

What are my RESOLUTIONS for 2011/12?

  • To Lose 2 Stones In Weight
  • To Learn To Drive

 

List three positive, active steps to help you stick to them.

To Lose 2 Stones Weight
– Change eating habits
– Start exercising more
– Eat less shite

To Learn to Drive
– Select a driving school
– Book lessons
– Keep to the practice time

 


THE FUTURE

 

Where do I want to be with my writing in the long-term?

I want to be a successful published novelist.

How can I change/compromise on the non-supportive elements in my life?

I need to continue to actively manage the balance between my home and professional life. This has been achieved over last couple of years and one of my personal dreams for the coming year will aid this.

What will make me refer to myself, first and foremost, as a “writer”?

I am a writer. Who says I’m not?

With what new type of writing will I experiment with in the coming year?

No plans to do so, although if there is time I may dabble in a stage play again.

What new non-writing interests do I wish to add to my life this year?

I will start cooking again. I used to cook quite a lot but these days I’d rather phone Dominos.

What overall changes do I need to make in my life to achieve ALL of my life goals?

Focus on fiction: writing and learning
Maximise output: maximise visibility
Think big – Think positive!

 


Book Fest Media
Catch up on all my reviews and articles on my sister site, the (Unofficial) Edinburgh Book Festival Blog

For visual enjoyment of the Edinburgh Book Festival, click over to my constantly updated photograph feed at flickr.com/colinthewriter

For audio enjoyment, why not subscribe to my Book Festival podcast on iTunes or listen to the stream on SoundCloud.

Ciao for now!

Post this story to Reddit Post this story to Facebook Post this story to Del.icio.us Stumble It! Post this story to Digg
About Colin Galbraith

Author, poet, music lover, rabbit tamer, fake faller.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Goals, Dreams and Resolutions Plan 2011/12

  1. Diane says:

    Good luck! With everything. 🙂

  2. Great stuff.

    Once you learn the Mac and start working with iPages, etc., you’ll see how much easier it makes the whole writing process.

    You will LOVE driving, once you get over the whole I’m-in-a-two-ton-steel-deathrap bit. The sense of freedom is wonderful.

Got something to say? Do it here...

